Searching for a fuel card no deposit? Greenway offers deferred payment without a personal guarantee or security deposit, using a credit line rather than advance funding.[1] Elsewhere, a missing deposit requirement on a product page proves little: WEX’s UK terms expressly allow security.[5] Start by deciding whether you need time to pay or can fund fuel upfront. This guide compares European providers with UK alternatives, whose availability should not be assumed outside that market.
- No deposit does not mean no credit check. Eurowag assesses company finances before setting a credit limit.[2]
- Prepaid does not always mean deposit-free. fuelGenie’s Pre-Pay account requires cash security.[3]
- Check the contract, not just the headline. WEX can require security and review account limits.[5]
Deposit, personal guarantee and bank guarantee
These terms describe different commitments. The examples below identify their jurisdiction or contractual framework. They are not a single European rulebook.
Security deposit: cash supporting the account
fuelGenie requires £750 for a £500 limit. Its deposit is refundable when credit becomes available or the account closes, less money owed. That is different from simply loading a spending balance. WEX’s UK terms also provide for a cash deposit to be applied against transactions, in clause 5.4(e).[3][5] Ask where the money sits, when it is returned and whether unpaid invoices can reduce the refund.
Personal guarantee: someone else becomes liable
Under Germany’s BGB §765, a guarantor undertakes to answer for another person’s debt, including future or conditional debts. In England, section 4 of the Statute of Frauds addresses written, signed evidence for promises to answer for another’s debt, subject to exceptions. Neither provision establishes a Europe-wide fuel-card requirement.[6][7] Ask specifically whether the director must sign personally: a company application and a personal undertaking are different decisions.
Demand guarantee: an independent undertaking
ICC Academy explains that a demand guarantee is an independent undertaking, usually issued by a bank, payable against a complying demand. URDG 758 applies when incorporated into the guarantee. It is not automatic EU legislation.[8] If you need a fuel card without bank guarantee, ask whether the proposed contract requires any bank undertaking, rather than asking only about cash deposits.
Why does the issuer ask for security?
When fuel is supplied before payment, the provider carries an unpaid balance. DKV’s UK page describes fortnightly statements and SEPA collection. Allstar Plus advertises up to 44 days’ interest-free credit after a full credit check.[4][9] As an illustration, a business spending €100 each day would accumulate €1,400 over a fortnight before collection. This is arithmetic using an assumed daily spend, not a DKV quotation or an approved limit.
The contractual label also matters. WEX’s UK terms say the agreement is not a grant of credit, yet provide for an Account Limit, financial screening and security. They allow future purchases to require prepayment or full security if the limit is withdrawn. Read the payment exposure and the legal wording together.[5]
Approval, trading history and credit checks
A no deposit fuel card is not a promise that every applicant receives the limit requested. Eurowag describes online scoring and analysis of company finances. UK Fuels says its standard credit check can be a hard check. WEX can request financial statements under clause 6.1.[2][10][5] Ask what documents a recently incorporated business can supply and whether the approved limit covers its expected unpaid spend.
For a search such as “fuel card no credit check”, prepaid is a relevant alternative: The Fuel Store advertises no credit check, while FleetMaxx says no formal credit checks and still checks identity. RightPay’s page says no credit checks, but its FAQ describes a light check. Get that discrepancy clarified in writing.[12][11][13] Greenway’s no-deposit offer makes no promise here about dispensing with creditworthiness checks.[1]
Three payment models: when does the money leave?
Deferred payment
Prepaid balance
Immediate debit
- Compare paying directly from the business account.
- Ask about available funds and transaction limits.
- No dedicated immediate-debit product verified in this comparison.
For a prepaid fuel card for business, ask whether funds buy fuel or secure invoices. fuelGenie’s deposit-backed Pre-Pay account still issues invoices, with payment due seven days later. Its name therefore describes a different arrangement from a spend-down balance.[3]
Our offer
Greenway: no deposit, paid after refuelling
Greenway, which publishes this guide, offers deferred payment on a credit line, without a personal guarantee or security deposit.[1]
- No personal guarantee or security deposit.[1]
- One month-end invoice and early repayment of the credit line without fees.[1]
- Access to 100% of European fuel stations and 1.2 million charging points, according to Greenway’s product page.[1]
- Tolls and parking on the same account, with real-time spending limits.[1]
- Pre-calculated VAT ready for accounting export.[1]
For companies, not sole traders or self-employed people operating without a company. Displayed fees: €70 for account opening, €7 excluding VAT per card per month for 50–200 cards, and a 1.5–2% management fee per transaction, plus 1% per transaction for 1%ForAll®. See the pricing page for the full schedule.[1]
European and UK offers compared
Research snapshot: 24/10/2026. UK entries illustrate alternatives for that market. “Not stated” means the reviewed page does not answer the question, rather than confirming a deposit-free contract. WEX terms reviewed are dated June 2023.[5]
| Offer / market | Deposit or guarantee | Approval information | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|
| Greenway Our offer | No personal guarantee or deposit | Companies, excluding sole traders | Deferred credit line with a month-end invoice[1] |
| Eurowag · Europe | Deposit not stated | Financial analysis and online scoring | Prepaid or postpaid[2] |
| DKV Mobility · UK page | Not stated | No minimum turnover or fleet size advertised | Fortnightly statement and SEPA collection[4] |
| UTA Edenred · Europe | Not stated | Business customers, with no minimum fleet size | Individual payment terms[15] |
| Esso Card / WEX · UK terms | Security can be required | Financial screening and a discretionary limit | Agreed billing frequency, with direct debit as the default[5] |
| Allstar Plus · UK | Not stated | Incorporated business, with a full credit check | Up to 44 days’ interest-free credit[9] |
| fuelGenie Pre-Pay · UK | Deposit: 1.5 times limit | Credit-account review available later | Invoices payable seven days after issue[3] |
| FleetMaxx Maxx Control · UK | Prepaid, with no deposit commitment verified | No formal credit checks, but an identity check | Prepaid[11] |
| The Fuel Store · UK | Prepaid. Confirm separate security terms | No credit check advertised | Prepaid[12] |
| RightPay · UK | Prepaid. Confirm security terms | Conflicting statements about credit checks | Top up by card or bank transfer[13] |
Check route coverage separately from payment terms. Our multi-brand fuel-card comparison for France addresses that country specifically. For mixed fleets, read about fuel cards and electric charging.
Start-ups, sole traders and businesses under pressure
New companies. FleetMaxx and The Fuel Store position prepaid products for start-ups or limited credit histories. That does not establish a universal minimum trading age for deferred cards. Ask what evidence replaces accounts you do not yet have.[11][12]
Sole traders. fuelGenie accepts sole-trader applications and considers personal as well as business information. Allstar Plus requires an incorporated business. Greenway does not serve sole traders or independent workers without a company.[16][9][1] Check legal-form eligibility before comparing fees.
Credit difficulties. Radius offers an alternative-credit team when standard credit is unavailable, without publishing a universal deposit arrangement. fuelGenie invites a review after six months of trading on its secured account. This is a review opportunity, not guaranteed approval.[14][3] Compare the cash committed upfront with the cash needed to keep vehicles moving.
7 questions to ask before signing
Before choosing a provider, ask for an offer addressed to your legal entity and country of operation. Keep the proposed credit limit, security wording and payment calendar together: comparing only the monthly card price will leave those questions unanswered. In particular, a UK product page cannot confirm the terms that a provider would offer a company incorporated elsewhere. The comparison above identifies the pages reviewed so you can request the relevant contract.
- Is no deposit confirmed for my company in the contract?
- Could you demand security later or withdraw the account limit?
- Must a director sign a personal guarantee, or must a bank provide one?
- Which checks and documents determine approval and the spending limit?
- When are invoices issued, and when is payment collected?
- For prepaid accounts, what are the funding fees and unused-balance refund terms?
- Which countries, stations and additional transaction fees apply to our routes?
Frequently asked questions
Can a new business get a fuel card without credit history?
Prepaid offers from FleetMaxx and The Fuel Store target start-ups. Credit approval is a separate question. Neither example establishes eligibility for a deferred account.[11][12]
Is prepaid the same as paying a deposit?
Check the arrangement. fuelGenie’s Pre-Pay account requires security of 1.5 times the limit and still bills purchases separately.[3]
Will the director have to give a personal guarantee?
Ask for the proposed undertaking. A personal guarantee creates an obligation distinct from the company’s debt, as illustrated by BGB §765. Greenway does not require one.[6][1]
Plan your fleet payments
Looking for a fuel card no deposit?
Discuss your company’s fleet and payment needs with Greenway, or request a platform demonstration.
Response within 48 h · cards issued within 5 days[1]
References
- Greenway, Fuel card and pricing pages (no guarantee or deposit, credit line, month-end invoice, published fees). Fuel card. Greenway pricing. ↩
- Eurowag, Fuel card: financial assessment and prepaid/postpaid options. Source. ↩
- fuelGenie, Pre-Pay account: security, invoices, refunds and review. Source. ↩
- DKV Mobility, UK fuel-card overview. Source. ↩
- WEX Europe Services, UK general terms, June 2023; clauses 3.3, 5.2, 5.3, 5.4 and 6.1. Source. ↩
- German Federal Ministry of Justice, BGB §765: contractual duties in a guarantee. Source. ↩
- legislation.gov.uk, Statute of Frauds 1677, section 4; qualifications shown with the text. Source. ↩
- ICC Academy, URDG 758: a practitioner’s guide to demand guarantees. Source. ↩
- Allstar, Allstar Plus: eligibility, checks and payment period. Source. ↩
- UK Fuels, Business fuel cards: credit-check information. Source. ↩
- FleetMaxx Solutions, Maxx Control prepaid fuel card. Source. ↩
- The Fuel Store, Prepaid fuel card. Source. ↩
- Right Fuel Card, RightPay product page and FAQ: conflicting credit-check wording. Source. ↩
- Radius, Alternative credit for fuel cards. Source. ↩
- UTA Edenred, Business fuel card: eligibility and payment terms. Source. ↩
- fuelGenie, Who can apply for a fuel card? Source. ↩